Why I Love My Disney Visa

image

I know that credit cards are usually not part of “love” posts but since I learned how to use credit properly I feel very empowered by the bonuses from Chase! Recently I went back and forth between upgrading my Disney Rewards Visa to a Premiere card and found that there are both advantages and disadvantages to upgrading. Of course I thought I’d share with you the pros, cons, and perks!

First of all the major allure of either card is that you earn Disney Dream Rewards dollars. These go into a rewards total and can be cashed out once you reach $10 ($20 the first time since they are loaded into a reusable card). You earn 1% back on everything but with the Premiere card you earn 2% on many purchases. Both also offer 0% Disney vacation financing for 6 months, a $50 Disney Cruise Line onboard credit, and in park perks like discounts on merchandise and meet and greets. The catch on the Premiere card is that you have an annual fee of $49. (Remember that all this info is subject to change as per Chase bank.)

Here is a little bit of info that may make you want to open a new line or switch to a new account: As of new credit legislation in 2010 Chase has frozen interest rates. What does that mean for you? Well most rates were higher a couple years ago AND for those of you in a position like me (I’ve had my Disney Visa since day 1 which happened to be when I was in college and had no credit history) you may have an interest rate higher than you desire. Since Chase is not renegotiating rates or running yearly adjustments for the time being you may want to look into applying for a Premiere- my APR is half on my Premiere card what it is on my original Disney visa!

Bottomline: with my Premiere card I have to pay $49 per year but as long as I keep going to Disney World I will earn that back pretty easily in rewards dollars. Plus when you first sign up the gift card bonus is $50 more for the Premiere card so it sort of pays for its first year! If you know your family would take advantage of using your card for points AND paying it off each month then you should def look into these cards! With savvy spending they can help you get to Disney World! 😉

Thank you for stopping by Mouze Kateerz. We value feedback from our readers and welcome your comments.
Magical Vacations by Distinctive Journeys is ready to help you plan your next magical vacation. Please visit them at Magical Vacations by Distinctive Journeys on facebook, on the web at Distinctive Journeys or 404-414-6198 or mickeyinfo@distinctive-journeys.com

 

Melissa DonaldBy profession Melissa is a 9th grade World History teacher, but by nature she is a lover of all things Disney. She has always been a bit of a bookworm and has believed in fairytales since she was a little girl. (Her favorite heroine and princess is Belle.)

When she isn’t teaching, snapping pictures to post on Picturing Disney on Facebook, updating her photoblog Picturing Disney, or prancing around Disney Parks like a kid, she is lives her life filled with love, laughter, and happily ever after in New York with her husband and their adorable dog.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments

  1. funfactsforyoutoo says:

    awesome!

    Mira

  2. I just created this blog post http://mickeysforum.com/blog/disney-visa-cardholder/
    I go into the math and explain if Premier or the Free one is worth it

  3. It’s very trouble-free to find out any topic on net as compared
    to textbooks, as I found this post at this web page.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

