Free Disney Time? Take A Monorail Ride to the Contemporary Resort

Every photo has a story.

“Por favor mantenganse alejado de las puertas. Ladies and Gentlemen, please collect your belongings and watch your head and step. Please assist small children by the hand.” We’re about  to climb off  the WDW monorail. I can hear the words in my sleep, the words of childhood fun, special memories, and Disney destinations just along the track.  If you’ve ever ridden on a Disney monorail, this simple speech, even the sound of the narrator’s voice,  is etched into your collective Disney history forever as well.  My earliest memory of the Contemporary was approaching it by monorail, gliding into the building.

Picture this…since the 1971 opening of Walt Disney World, the monorail system has carried more than one billion passengers.  The WDW Resort Monorail System, the most heavily traveled passenger monorail system in the world, carries nearly 150,000 passengers every week day.  Each year, the monorails transports more than 50 million people. One of my all time favorite things to do on a Disney vacation is hop a monorail and tour some of the breathtaking resorts along the monorail route. Our stop today is the Contemporary Resort.

The Contemporary offers shopping in small, intimate shops and a quick-lunch at the Contempo Cafe.  I sit at my table mesmerized, watching  monorails zip through the building. Where else do you see this sort of thing, monorails passing your table?  Not at the beach, not in the snowy mountains. Even the sound of the monorail gets my heart beating a bit faster.

A traditional Contemporary must-see is the floor-to-ceiling ceramic mural, created by artist and Disney legend Mary Blair, a whimsical celebration of the beauty of the Grand Canyon and the southwest region.  Have you ever stopped to feel the texture on the tiles? You should, because you get a closer view of what went into creating that artwork.  I have actually hiked the Grand Canyon, back in my college days, when I was young and thought I could do most anything. Heat exhaustion, near death experience in the hot 122 degree Arizona sun…luckily I don’t feel any of that Grand Canyon feeling when I touch those tiles. I just feel the Disney magic in the same tiles I have been touching since I was about 5 years old.

Need some quiet time to rest your achy, vacation-weary feet?  Take an escalator down one floor to the Convention Center area, where there are almost always some fluffy couches available, and the bathrooms here are super clean, quiet, and roomy.

Walk down the back steps and out to Bay Lake. There’s a beautifully landscaped trail that runs over to Bay Lake Towers. If you spend much time there, you just might be tempted to look into the DVC. Boat rentals, fishing charters, and a boat that runs over to Wilderness Lodge….it’s all the fun you could want for a Disney day.

Thanks for coming along for a photographical Disney ride, and we’ll see you at the Contemporary Resort!

Stop by Mouze Kateerz on Facebook and  Mouze Kateerz on Pinterest. 

Like to read about Disney?

The Disney Vacation Club? How It Has Wrecked My Home Life

Spending More Than 4 days in Orlando? You Need to Schedule One of These for Sure!

If You Are Going to Play at Disney All Day, Spend Some Time at the Gift Shops After Closing

Pregnant at Disney: A Survival Guide for the Mom-To-Be

Mirror, Mirror, on the Wall, What is the Grandest Disney Resort of ALL?

Comments

  1. Admiring the hard work you put into your site and in depth information you
    provide. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed
    information. Fantastic read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my
    Google account.

  2. This is a great tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Thank you for sharing this one.
    A must read post!

  3. Aw, this was a very good post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make a great article… but
    what can I say… I put things off a whole lot and don’t manage to get anything done.

  4. An impressive share! I have just forwarded this
    onto a coworker who was doing a little homework on this.
    And he in fact ordered me dinner simply
    because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this.
    … Thanks for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for
    spending some time to discuss this matter here on your site.

Leave a Reply

