The Disney Vacation Club? How It Has Wrecked My Home Life

What is the absolute worst part about a Disney vacation, assuming your car doesn’t break down, you don’t catch the flu, and you do not lose your wallet? The worst part is definitely coming home. After-Disney Depression goes by many unofficial clinical names.

  • IMDS – I miss Disney Syndrome
  • DDS – Disney Depression Syndrome.
  • DVES – Disney Vacation Ending Syndrome
  • PDS – Post Disney Depression

Different names – same outcome. You simply miss Disney, and it’s depressing to ponder when you’ll have enough money and time off from work to make it back to the Mouse House.

My family has been Disney Vacation Club (DVC) members since 2009, and our home base is at Bay Lake Tower in Orlando. Coming home from Bay Lake Tower is rough. I’m going to show and tell you why the DVC has wrecked my home life.

Bay Lake Tower bathroom photo, Bay Lake Tower shower, Bay Lake Tower towels, Bay Lake Tower H2O bath products

1. No Jet Tub

I make it a prioroty to wake up before or go to bed after my family, just so I can make time for a soak in the Bay Lake Tower jet tub. A person could totally get used to this. Unfortunately, I don’t live in a house with a floor plan that would allow for installation of a jet tub. Money for a tub? Rats! I spent that money on Disney tickets. So I go back home, no jet tub, no double-extra hot water with bubbles, and I’m relegated back to just a plain old shower. Huge bummer.

2. No Monorail

There’s no monorail outside my window at home, and jumping in my car pales in comparison to hopping aboard a monorail and zipping off to the other fabulous resorts or the Magic Kingdom. Glancing around, it seems there are no resorts in my neighborhood either. There is no metal pole for my kids to hang on to in my car. There’s no monorail driver at home – gasp – I am now responsible for driving myself again. I have to actually carry a driver’s license. There is no cheerful voice telling me to please stand clear of the doors, just my shrill voice yelling for the kids to get in the car. Don’t get me started on the current price of gas…Ugh, the horror.

My favorite things to do near the monorail?

Hop on a Monorail for FREE Walt Disney World Resort Activities

3. No free shampoo

I have to pay for my own shampoo at home, and it does not usually smell as tropically fabulous as H2O’s Disney Resort shampoos. Remember when Mickey Mouse asked if everyone was clean and pretty? I now know he was talking directly to me, and the answer is no, because the resort shampoo, like Jack Sparrow’s rum, has run dry. Ugh.

4. No Bay Lake

There is no lake within 20 miles of my house, much less right out the back door. There is no shuttle boat to take me to Wilderness Lodge. There is no lodge within eight hours of my house. There are no boat horns to hear in the evening hours when the sun goes down. There are no sounds of children laughing and squealing as they board a Pirate Cruise from the Contemporary dock. Yikes.

So what’s cheaper than a DVC membership and longer lasting? A Disney tattoo!

The Disney Tattoo: Are You a Big Enough Fan to Actually Do it?!

sunset on Bay Lake, sunset on Bay Lake photo, sunset photo, Seven Seas Lagoon photo, Disney sunset photo, Disney photo

5. No Mouse Keeping

I am the maid at Chez Mouze, and the only reason I haven’t been fired for incompetence is that no one more qualified has come along to work for free. Who will wash my sheets? Who will wipe down the bathrooms and kitchen? Who will empty the trash? Me…ugh. I think I have developed a stress headache.

6.  My pool isn’t their Pool

I have a pool in my backyard, but it doesn’t look like the one at Bay Lake Tower. Pool bar and café? That’s my kitchen, where dishes are usually piled up high in the sink, and it’s a toss-up if there’s enough food for lunch. Cast Member to cook? Nope, it’s just Moi, and my cooking stinks. Oh, man, the horror.

Speaking of Disney pools, I don’t have one of these in my back yard either, and they are amazing. You won’t believe the prices…

The Disney Princess: Here’s Why You Would Love the Pool Cabanas at the Contemporary Resort!

Bay Lake Tower Pool, Bay Lake Tower hot tub, Bay Lake Tower swimming, Bay lake Tower slide photo, photo Bay lake Tower pool

7. No Cool Kids Activities

I have a small fire pit from Lowes, but it doesn’t even remotely look like this. I even have to buy my own marshmallows. There is no Community Hall for my sons to relax in on hot summer afternoons. Who is going to entertain my kids while I Facebook from my iPhone? Ugh, me, and the kids are not thrilled about that either.

Bay Lake Tower Fire Pit, Bay Lake Tower roast marshmallows, Bay Lake, Bay Lake Tower reservations

8. No mural of Space Mountain in the Dining room

I have a dining room table, but there is a painting of a sailboat on the wall. Can you imagine my husband’s expression if I painted a Space Mountain mural and hung it behind his chair? Now picture my kid’s expressions of glee. OK, my teen daughter might not think it’s so cool. Ugh, the horror.

Bay Lake Tower dining table, eat at Bay lake Tower Resort, eat dinner at Disney, photo of Bay Lake Tower resort

How much will Bay Lake Tower cost you without using DVC points? Make sure you’re sitting down, and then check it out.

Disney’s Bay Lake Tower Resort: Is It Really Worth the Big Buck$?

Bay Lake Tower bedding, Bay Lake Tower bedroom, Bay Lake Tower sheets, buy Disney sheets, Disney sheets, Disney World Bedrooms, how to decorate Disney

9. No fabulous Disney vacation bedding

Now that all this pondering my post-Bay Lake Tower losses has given me that stress headache, I could go take a nap and sleep off my depression. But my sheets and comforter just do not feel like the Bay Lake Tower bedding. And it’s possible to order my own set, but then I probably couldn’t make my car payment this month. Ugh, I might as well take a nap on the couch.

10. No Top of the World Lounge

If I want to watch the 10 p.m. fireworks show or grab a quick adult drink or bite to eat, Bay Lake Tower has their Top of the World Lounge just for Vacation Club Members. The closest facsimile I will get to this at home is to climb a tree stand and throw a bottle rocket out of the tree. More problematic is that I don’t own a tree stand, and current law states I can shoot off fireworks in my yard only on the 4th of July. No lounge, no nightly fireworks show. I can put a sparkler in my hand, but I’m still lacking the 14th floor balcony to watch the sun go down from the highest point on Disney property. Ugh, the horror.

See, the Disney Vacation Club is ruining my home life.

(Now, remember, Mouze fans, this was a joke of sorts. There are bigger issues in the workd to worry over rather than not being on vacation. I know that. This article was written to make you laugh. Please don’t send me hate mail! I just tried to make you laugh…)

Post-Disney Vacation life is depressing. How can I cure it? Start counting the days until my next WDW vacation, of course!

Be sure to visit Mouze Kateerz on Facebook and Mouze Kateerz on Pinterest.

Like to read about Disney topics? Here ya go…

10 Epcot Experiences You Must Try on Your Next Disney World Vacation

Like to Save Money on Food at Disney? Order One of These…

The Polynesian Resort: Are You Ready for the Fabulousness of Club Level?!

Disney’s Beach Club: Three Reasons You’ll Love This Resort

Comments

  1. I love this post! By the by- we have framed sheet music from ‘Who’s afraid of the big bad wolf’ and ‘the 3 cabelleros’ in the diningroom at home- but no monorail!

  2. vanessaksmith says:

    I suffer from IMDS daily! My husband and I joke about moving to WDW and becoming cast memebers. Cinderella and Prince Charming perhaps? LOL.

  3. I do consider all the ideas you have offered in your post.
    They’re very convincing and will certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are too short for novices. May just you please prolong them a little from subsequent time? Thanks for the post.

  4. Great post however I was wanting to know if you could write a litte more on this subject?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.

    Many thanks!

  5. If some one desires to be updated with newest technologies afterward he
    must be visit this site and be up to date
    every day.

Trackbacks

  1. […] the rest here: The Disney Vacation Club? How It Has Wrecked My Home Life … AKPC_IDS += "3667,";Popularity: unranked […]

  2. […] The Disney Vacation Club? How It Has Wrecked My Home Life […]

  3. […] The Disney Vacation Club? How It Has Wrecked My Home Life […]

Leave a Reply

