You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It.

Wishes Fireworks, Main Street Disney Fireworks

By Frances.

To say that my husband “hates” Disney is being a little dramatic. But to say that I love Disney a lot more than he does is absolutely true. Five trips to Disney in a year seems normal to me, while one time each year is much more realistic for him.

When we first started visiting “The World,” our oldest daughter was just barely one. My sister and her three children traveled with us, and it was a true family affair. My husband thought his obligation to see the Mouse was over for a while, yet that trip ignited a passion within me. I wanted my daughter to know Disney World inside and out. We continued to go back one time a year over the next few years, when finally my husband said “no more.”  He wanted to try other places and have new adventures. I was devastated.

WDW monorail, Disney monorail, Disney castle monorail

We now had a son, and I wanted him to be in love with the World like my daughter and I were. I reflected back over all of our trips, and I saw the fun times, the crazy character dinners and all of the “kid” stuff we did. He admitted that he had a great time, but he really just wanted to try something new. I slowly realized that all of our trips had been pretty much the same. We stayed at value resorts, we ate at mainly character meals or buffets, and we pretty much followed the same schedule. For someone who wasn’t “in love” with Disney as much as I was, I could see why he wanted to do other things.

A Free Dining promotion came up, and I figured out how we could save a ton of money. Speaking directly to my husband’s wallet works wonders, and I sold it to him as the “Last Trip for a while.” He agreed. I built the trip around new adventures and things he wanted to do. We stayed at a moderate resort, which was certainly a nice change from a value resort. We went to the Spirit of Aloha show at the Polynesian Resort. I scheduled a “Date Night” and hired an in-room sitter to watch the kids.  We really explored Epcot and ate at Le Cellier. (What to know what the Mouze thought of Le Cellier? Here’s our review. Disney’s Famous Le Cellier Restaurant: Is It Really Worth the Big Buck$?!)  We sat on the curb at Casey’s Corner and ate corn dogs while watching the parade. Reservations at Whispering Canyon was the biggest win for him. Sure we ate at a character breakfast, but I made sure that it had an omelet station for him.

Epcot Soarin', Eocpt's The Land, Epcot, Disney's Soarin' Over California

On the ride back home, he said that was his favorite Disney vacation and he was okay with going back, but only as long as we tried new things each trip. There are so many things that you can to at Disney World, that it would be a stretch for any one person or family to do them all. There is all of the Disney kiddy stuff that you think of right away, and then there is jet skiing, world championship golf, spa treatments, behind the scene tours, chartered boats for the fireworks, and so much more.

We have now found a balance where we go as a family 1-2 times per year. I usually will take my sister, her kids and my children one time each year, a trip we make without my husband. I can almost always find some kind of training for work in Orlando, which is a fabulous benefit to being a Disney Vacation Planner, at least one to two times per year. That’s a lot of trips, but the absolute best thing is that my husband now likes going to Disney, and he looks forward to what new adventure I have planned.

Cinderella Castle at night, Disney Ferry at night

So what can you do when you love Disney more than they do? Here are some tips.

  1. The best time to visit would not be a major holiday when crowds are crazy. This can be a  huge irritation to those not feeling the Disney love. If you’re not sure when to go, here are some suggestions. (This is the Best time to Visit Disney World)
  2. Let the not-so-big-fan take an active role in planning activities. Include them in the trip planning, so they’ll have something to look forward to.
  3. Try something new each trip.
  4. Try not to talk about Disney all the time. This can drive people nuts. This also applies to playing Disney movies constantly, listening to theme park music, and watching Disney planning videos. Sometimes too much can be a lot too much.
  5. Schedule some adult time, if possible, so it doesn’t seem like a vacation centered around Mickey Mouse and kid rides.
  6. Be patient. We don’t all love the same things.
  7. Be hopeful. Maybe they’ll come around.

Thanks for stopping by for a photographical Disney ride, and we’ll see you in the parks as you plan your next trip, even before you have left the one you’re on!

Frances

Frances Hedrick is a Disney Vacation Planner for Disney Vacations by Distinctive Journeys. She has stayed more than 150 days at the Walt Disney World Resort and at 14 of the resorts with her own family and friends. She loves sharing Disney magic 365 days a year.

You can save money on your resort stay to Disney by planning ahead. Here is one offer for this summer:

With great summer rates at Disney Resort hotels, now’s the perfect time to plan a spectacular summer vacation that your family will cherish forever. Save up to 25% at select Disney Resort hotels when you book by June 14, 2012 for stays most nights June 15, 2012 through August 14, 2012. Free Dining is also available for select dates in August and September.

You can contact Frances at frances@distinctive-journeys.com or on her cell: 404-414-6198.

You can follow her magical vacations on her Facebook page: Disney Vacations by Distinctive Journeys.

Be sure to visit Mouze Kateerz on Facebook and Mouze Kateerz on Pinterest.

Think Disney is Just for Kids? Here’s Some Tips for Adult Fun at Walt Disney World

What You Should Know About Disney World’s Extra Magic Hours

Vacation Like a Newlywed at Disney’s Wilderness Lodge, Club Level

Think You’re Ready for a Disney Vacation? Here’s a Mileage Tip You Seriously Need to Know

How to Take a Baby to Walt Disney World and Have Fun!

Comments

  1. Frances,

    Great blog!

    Luckily for us, my wife and I both love Disney (we dream of “retiring” and working at WDW).

    After our honeymoon trip to Disney World, every time my wife asked where I’d like to go on vacation, I’d ask, “Oh, we can’t go back to Disney World?” It took us a few years to figure out we were both happy to keep going back!

    We love doing all our favorites, but great advice to try new things! And there are so many opportunities at WDW, as you point out.

    I’ve read that you could visit Disney World every day for an entire year, and never do the same thing twice.

    And they’re always adding new things, so enjoy your future vacations!

    We’ll see you there!

    Brenda & Roger

  2. I am the Disney lover in the family. I am in my forties and single. I do not have to deal with a husband or children to have fun, but I felt like that if I do not include my family, I would come off as cold and selfish to them. The run down of my family is my father hates Disney. Like your husband hate is such a strong word for my dad, so I will cool it down to a “loving dislike.” My mom can take or leave it when it comes to the parks, but she like the other aspects of Disney. I am trying to fill out my brother and SIL. They are on the “wait until the youngest can appreciate Disney. Because of this, we are trying to go next year when he is 3. (He is 1 now), My sister likes Disney too, and very much want her two children to experience DW at least once while they are little (5 and 3). My oldest nephew (who is my brother’s oldest child-teen) could take it on leave it, as long as it has thrill rides. (Disney’s Hollywood Studios is more suited for him as well as my sister).
    The last trip, we basically let my father do his own thing, and met up with him later. He drove around the resort as well as Orlando. I am being stubborn, but I may have to include (gulp!) Sea World or Bush Gardens in the trip. I do not want to, but if it is to keep the thrill riders in the family at bay, that is fine.

    • Family can be tough. See if he will take a tour around the different resorts as well…that’s one of my favorite non-ride activities to do, and they are all spectacular. Thanks for reading!
      ~Amanda

Trackbacks

  1. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. (mouzekateerz.com) […]

  2. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  3. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  4. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  5. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  6. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  7. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  8. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  9. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. Filed Under: Disney Vacation Planning, WDW Resorts Tagged With: All-Star Movies resort, Disney vacation planning, Disney's All-Star Resorts, Disney's Pop Century Resort, entertainment, Family, Mouze Kateerz, Photography, travel, Walt Disney World « 3 Days Remaining to Enter to Win a FREE $25 Disney Gift Card!! […]

  10. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  11. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  12. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  13. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  14. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  15. […] You Love Disney More Than They Do. Here’s What You Can Do About It.  […]

  16. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  17. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

  18. […] You Love Disney World More Than They Do. Here is What You Do About It. […]

Leave a Reply

