The Photographic Allure of Walt Disney World

Not exactly the real Mount Everest, but close enough for me.

Every photo has a story.

It’s a fairly common theme with people who have recently vacationed in Walt Disney World; when am I going back?  There are lots of genial debates between friends planning vacations; if you’ve already gone somewhere a bunch of times, why do you need to go back?  Why not go somewhere else new, try something different?

I go back because my children love it there, and I’m just tickled pink we have a love of all things Disney to bind us together as they start to hit their sullen and alienating teen years.  I go back because I will never visit a moon base, stay in a Polynesian village, walk the dusty streets of the Wild West, visit the castles of Europe, or probably any of the other grand places represented at the lands of Disney.  I’m none too thrilled with air travel, and I’m pretty content with my occasional nine-hour drive to Orlando.  I go back because I can have adventures and visit exotic places, and the photographic possibilities are seemingly limitless.  I see the facades and  floral landscaping and thematic decorations of Walt Disney World Disney as art.

Snapping photos on a walk through Epcot.

Picture this…I am not a professional photographer, and I do not use a particularly expensive camera.  But I always have my camera slung over my shoulder, because there is inevitably another image I see that I want to take home, so I can savor the moment for a bit longer.

I am a wanderer on a Disney vacation.  I walked 114 miles in eleven days on our last Orlando jaunt, which is like running four marathons in a little over a week.  I walk for miles and miles at night on our summer Disney trips, when most people are asleep and everything is quiet.  Mid-afternoon when lines are long, I wander the resorts on the monorail track.  I take a seat in the lobby and enjoy the architecture.  I take a boat to Disney’s Wilderness Lodge, both night and day, just to sit by the waterfall or take in the intricate carvings in the lobby.  There are things to see, pictures to take, and every location is different.  I walk until my legs ache, but my artistic soul is refreshed.

There are Disney places to go, Disney pictures to see, so I dream and scheme of going back.  Many of you are doing some scheming of your own right about now.

Thanks for coming along for a photographical ride!

Do you have any fabulous Disney vacation pictures you’d like to share? Drop by and share your photos on Facebook at Mouze Kateerz.  Take a virtual Disney vacation each day in photographs, and you can see even more pictures by visiting Mouze Kateerz on Pinterest.  Shoot me an email of your favorite Disney location or architectural wonder at mouzekateerz@chipandco.com.

Comments

  1. Julie Dixon says:

    I know it’s silly but one of my favorite things to photograph at Disney are the little bunny rabbits. It strikes me as so strange to see a bunny rabbit hopping by in a theme park full of people. I don’t think most people even notice them.

  2. Love this article, your honesty and passion!

Trackbacks

  1. […] The Photographic Allure of Walt Disney World (mouzekateerz.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "265e15"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "ededed"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "996633"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "politics"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "social-issues"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "disney-world"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "fat-hatred"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "health-at-every-size"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "recreation"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "size-acceptance"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough"); Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] The Photographic Allure of Walt Disney World (mouzekateerz.com) Advertisement GA_googleAddAttr("AdOpt", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Origin", "other"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_border", "bbbbbb"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_text", "333333"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_link", "1c9bdc"); GA_googleAddAttr("theme_url", "1c9bdc"); GA_googleAddAttr("LangId", "1"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "vacation"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "travel"); GA_googleAddAttr("Autotag", "technology"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "travel"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "disney"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "disney-vacation-club"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "disneyland"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "facebook"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "magic-kingdom"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "mickey-mouse"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "sally-field"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "walt-disney-company"); GA_googleAddAttr("Tag", "walt-disney-world-resort"); GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_below_post"); Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. […] The Photographic Allure of Walt Disney World (mouzekateerz.com) […]

  4. […] The Photographic Allure of Walt Disney World (mouzekateerz.com) […]

  5. […] The Photographic Allure of Walt Disney World (mouzekateerz.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. Filed Under: Disney Holidays, WDW Resorts, Wilderness Lodge Tagged With: Christmas, Christmas Lights, decorating, Disney, Disney Resorts, Disney World, Magic Kingdom, Meet The Magic, Mouze Kateerz, Photography, Walt Disney, Walt Disney World, Wilderness Lodge « Some Day My Prince Will Come… Paging Mr. Tom Morrow… » […]

Leave a Reply

