Conversing at the Contemporary Resort

I have loved the Contmporary Resort since I was a small child. We had family friends in OPrlando, so my dad wouldn not have dreamed of actually staying IN the resort. I longed for a night there.

To snap this shot, my chin was practically touching the metal pole at the Contemporary Resort. Hard to look unlike a tourist with your body grazing the windows, camera lens pointed to the ceiling. Monorail Gold buzzes through the building. A few steps to the left, and I’m in the Concourse Sundries & Spirits to pick up a gallon of milk.

The sweetest older lady, we’ll call her Annie, waits on me with that characteristic Cast Member smile. I remark, “That’s sure a lot of pins on your name tag. You must have worked here for a long time.”

“Oh honey, I’ve been here for 40 years, since opening day,” she responds. “I was here the very first day.” Now I’m smiling with her; I tell her she must really love her job to stay in once place so long. She flashes the most genuine smile. “Sweetie, what’s not to love? People on vacation are happy. They’re happy to see me. They love to buy stuff. I love comin’ to work every day.”

I reply, “I joke all the time that when I retire, I’m going to work for Disney. Maybe they’ll give me a shift right here next to you.” Another chipper smile, and she says, “Oh, honey, we got plenty of room for you!” I wink at her and affirm, “Then I’ll see ya right here in 15 years!”

And off I walk back over to Bay Lake Towers, glancing up at the ceiling, visions of name tags and my golden years dancing in my head.

Do you have any fabulous Disney  vacation pictures you’d like to  share? Drop by and share your photos on facebook at Mouze Kateerz.  Take a virtual Disney vacation twice a day in photographs. Or shoot me an email  of your favorite Disney location at mouzekateerz@chipandco.com.

Leave a Reply

